Opening Hours : 10.00 am - 11.00 pm Daily
To look at, the village of Lacock has changed little over the last hundred or so years. The same buildings, with a few exceptions, still stand as in the days of Oliver Cromwell.
One of these buildings, the George Inn, dates back to the year 1361. Impressive and steeped in history, this meeting, eating and drinking place is a most popular venue for local and tourists alike.
Visitors to the Inn are enthralled with tales about the grand open fireplace with a dogwheel. In the olden days this turned a spit using a specially bred dog called a Turnspit. During the winter months, this open fireplace flows with a crackling log fire enhancing the copper and brass decor. A most warming welcome!
The George Inn has had a continuous license dating back to the Cromwell days. One can muse about the swash buckling ironsides visiting The Inn, as the George was known in those days.
On visiting the George these days, one is captivated by the Olde English character which pervades. Original beams exposed to give a private and cosy atmoshpere are one of the main features.
4 West Street
Tel: 01249 730263
Fax: 01249 730186